Environment

By its very nature, wind energy exploitation is a clean affair. When it is completed, the Trianel Windpark Borkum will lead to a reduction of CO2 emissions of about 1.6 million tonnes and will thus make an important contribution to achieving climate protection targets.

Respecting nature

As part of the approval procedure, the potential impact of the 80 planned offshore wind turbines on the ocean environment was extensively investigated. Part of the investigation focused on any potential threat to marine mammals, such as the porpoise, to fish and benthos (very small seabed creatures), to seabirds as well as the effect on the seabed. With the approval of the wind farm it was confirmed that the project does not present any threat.

However, as the construction of offshore wind farms is nevertheless an intrusion into the marine habitat, scientific research has been taking place since 2002. There have also been a number of conferences on the subject and there is a dedicated research programme, RAVE, covering the first German test wind farm.

The Federal Agency for Nature Conservation (BfN) maintains a comprehensive collection of links and current map material. You will also find further information on the approval authority’s (BSH) web pages.

An extremely positive ecological footprint

this is what has been achieved with these offshore wind turbines. Over their lifetime they will generate up to 70 times the amount of energy needed for their manufacture, operation and disposal. Thanks to this excellent energy efficiency, the payback period of our wind turbines is also relatively short!

There is also the fact that the materials used are very suitable for recycling. Nearly 100% of the material used in these offshore wind turbines can be recycled. For an average service life of 25 years this is a very positive ecological balance, which can never be achieved by conventional power stations as these require a constant input of raw materials.

 

Marine wildlife

Environmental compatibility

more
 

Environment

North Sea habitat

more
 

Noise prevention

Bubble curtain

more

Umwelt

Die Windernergienutzung ist von Natur aus eine saubere Sache. Im vollständigen Ausbau wird der Trianel Windpark jährlich rund 1,6 Millionen Tonnen CO2 einsparen und damit einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Erreichung der Klimaschutzziele leisten.

Respekt vor der Natur

Im Rahmen des Genehmigungsverfahrens wurden mögliche Auswirkungen der geplanten 80 Offshore-Windenergieanlagen (OWEA) auf die Meeresumwelt umfassend geprüft. Teil der Prüfung war insbesondere die eventuelle Gefährdung der marinen Säuger, wie dem Schweinswal, der Fische und der Benthos (Kleinstlebewesen am Meeresgrund), der Seevögel, sowie die Wirkung auf den Meeresboden. Mit der Genehmigung des Windparks wurde die Unbedenklichkeit des Bauvorhabens bestätigt.

Da der Bau von Offshore-Windparks einen Eingriff in den Lebensraum Meer darstellt, finden seit 2002 wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen statt. Es gab verschiedene Tagungen zu der Thematik und der erste deutsche Test-Windpark wird von einem eigenen Forschungsprogramm namens RAVE begleitet.

Das Bundesamt für Naturschutz (BfN) hält eine umfangreiche Linksammlung und aktuelles Kartenmaterial bereit. Auf den Seiten der Genehmigungsbehörde (BSH) können Sie sich ebenfalls informieren.  

Weiterführende Links:
Bundesamt für Naturschutz (BfN)
Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit
Bundesamt für Seeschifffahrt und Hydrographie

Eine äußerst positive Ökobilanz

zeichnet die eingesetzten Offshore-Windenergieanlagen aus. Während ihres Betriebes erzeugen sie bis zu 70 Mal mehr Energie als für ihre Herstellung, Nutzung und Entsorgung benötigt wird. Dank dieser hohen energetischen Effizienz amortisieren sich unsere Windturbinen schnell.

Hinzu kommt die gute Wiederverwertbarkeit der verwendeten Materialien. Die OWEA sind zu fast 100 Prozent recyclingfähig. Bei einer durchschnittlichen Laufzeit von 25 Jahren ist dies eine sehr positive ökologische Bilanz, die konventionelle Kraftwerke durch das erforderliche ständige Hinzufügen von Energie niemals erreichen können.

 

Flora und Fauna

Umweltverträglichkeit

mehr
 

Umgebung

Lebensraum Nordsee

mehr
 

Schallschutz

Blasenschleier

mehr